July 20th, 2013

Today I experienced an unpleasant feeling in my collar bones. Pain in the bones is an omen: beware, turbulence, bad weather coming. I sit on a stoop passing the time in the derelict part of town. An old man with a cane walks by and asks where the wind blows. It’s so hot, I want to cut the head off a cactus and drink the juice. But I’m ready to go, so I ring the bell. I follow you silently up the steps to your room where I will take off my clothes and shoes and realize that my self-esteem hinges on the ability to please, but you say nothing, and it hurts my pride. I take a bus there. I walk all the way back. Perfume wafts down from the windows.

Leave a Reply

